Holiday Events 


By Harry Douglas

The Peach State Classic is one of Georgia's oldest High School Christmas Tournaments, which began in 1984.  This year, 2007 the Westlake Lions were crowned Champions beating Wenonah High School from Birmingham, AL.  The Lions were fortunate to get there in the Semi-Finals.  they went against a good Riverdale team that led Westlake for most of the game.  Riverdale missed a lay-up at the buzzard in two overtimes and Westlake won the game 82-78.  Westlake faced another tough team in the finals and won 45-43.  Oklahoma signee Raymond Willis was the tournament's MVP scoring 18 points with 10 rebounds.  Khamari Watts scored 17 points, Marcus Thornton 9 points, Menonah Score Box:  Jarret Towns 9 points, Kion Hinson 9 points and  Greg Henry 6 points.  

The Peach State Classic didn't have much talent as in the past, but there were some players that caught my eye.  6-1 PG Ishmael John is a "Sleeper" for a low to mid-major school.  John can handle the ball, sees the floor well, makes good decisions and can knock down the jumper from 15 to 22 feet.  He can also beat you off the dribble.  John played consistent throughout the  Peach State Classic.  So. 6-6 WF Marcus Thornton of Westlake is a big time player.  Thornton has nice size, plays well around the basket and is a young player with high major potential.  So. 6-6 CF Jalen Kendrick of SW Atlanta Christian was one of the best players in the Peach State Classic.  Kendrick scored 22 points  against a good Riverdale team.  Kendrick scored in double figures every game he played.  He can handle the ball, shoot, rebounds well and  plays well around the basket.  Kendrick is a Top 5 Sophomore in Class of 2010. Sr. 6-4 G Jarrett Towns of Wenonah High has good size, can score from anywhere on the floor, plays hard, strong and athletic.  5-10 PG Donte Turnipseed is a solid point guard that can handle the ball.  He's a smart player that can score and has good floor vision.


Youth Prep Stars Recruiting Magazine Peach State Classic All Tournament Team


MVP- Westlake Sr. Raymond Willis


CL HT POS Player High School
Sr. 6-4 G Jarrett Towns Wenonah High- AL
Sr. 6-0 G Kion Hinson Wenonah High- AL
So.  6-6 G Jalen Kendrick SW Atlanta Christian
Sr. 6-7 WF Joel Lamb SW Atlanta Christian
Jr. 6-9 PF Kenny Hall Redan
Sr. 6-3 G Jerome Adams Saint Jude
Sr. 6-9 PF Jamychael Green Saint Jude
Jr. 6-3 SG Shaq Barber Griffin
So.  6-7 PF Tank Sessions Griffin
Sr. 6-1 PG Ishmael John Riverdale
Jr.   5-10 PG Donte Turnipseed Riverdale
Jr. SF 6-7 Rashard Hanssaw Riverdale
Sr. PG 6-0 Robert Sims Bradwell Institute
Sr. PF 6-7 Kenny Johnson Tri Cities
So. WF 6-6 Marcus Thornton Westlake
Sr. SG 6-3 Khamori Watts Westlake
Sr.  WF 6-6 Gideon Gamble Westlake
Jr. SG 6-4 Andre Malone North Clayton
So. SF 6-7 Donte Williams Morrow


By Staff


Pebblebrook rolls over Campbell 74-68 in the Campbell Holiday Classic.  Tournament MVP 6-1 CG Chris Beasley scored a game high of 35 points.  The game went back and forth.  Pebblebrook widened the gap 65-49 with 6:00 minutes remaining.  However, Campbell's two headed monsters  6-5 Jaren Byne and 6-3 Travis Wallace went to work and closed the gap 66-62, but Beasley and company sealed the win.  Campbell's Bynes scored 22 points with 10 rebounds; Wallace scored 19 points with 11 rebounds and Pebblebrook's Chris Deny scored 14 points with 11 rebounds.

McEachern wins the Kingdom of the Sun in Ocala, FL.  So. Trae Golden, MVP 6-8 PF Kadeem Batts and 6-7 WF Darrett Garrett were all named to the All-Tournament Team.  Marietta wins the Midwest 53rd Annual Neosho Holiday Tournament in Neosho, MO.  5-10 PG Chris Tanzy, 6-4  Deandre Cannon were named to All Tournament Team.  Tanzy scored 18 points in the finals.  Cannon scored 14 points and Stanley Jennings scored 12 points.  Wesleyan captured the Deep South Classic in Snellville, GA.  Wesleyan 6-9 PF Howard Thompkins was MVP scoring 28 points with 14 rebounds in the Final.  Tanner Smith scored 18 points.  Thompkins was not match in the classic.  He scored 120 points in 4 games.  Wesleyan beat Collins Hill 72-52.

Deep South All Tournament Team

Tanner Smith- Wesleyan

Jeremy Olson- Collins Hill

Andrew Anderson- Collins Hill

Trent Wideman-  CAC

Brian Cole- Dacula